U.S. Announces Entries to 2013 World Team Trophy

(3/20/13) - U.S. Figure Skating announced today its entries for the 2013 ISU World Team Trophy, scheduled for April 11-14, in Tokyo.

Gracie Gold
Ashley Wagner

Max Aaron
Jeremy Abbott

Marissa Castelli and Simon Shnapir

Madison Chock and Evan Bates

World Team Trophy features the six best figure skating teams of the 2012-13 season, including Canada, China, France, Japan, Russia and the United States. Each team consists of two ladies, two men, one pair and one ice dancing couple. Each skater will receive points based on their placements in the short program/dance and free skate/dance. The points will be added together across the four disciplines and the highest point total will win.

U.S. skaters qualified based on results of the 2013 ISU World and World Junior Figure Skating Championships, the ISU Grand Prix and Junior Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series and Final, the ISU Four Continents Figure Skating Championships and the ISU World Rankings. Teams will compete for a total of $1 million USD in prize money.

Team USA won the inaugural World Team Trophy in 2009 and earned silver last year. A team event has been added to the schedule for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.
Bookmark and Share